marlene wagman-geller

selected links

Find Authors

Works


BEHIND EVERY GREAT MAN:Wives in the Shadows of History’s Alpha Males
In the tradition of Paul Harvey’s The Rest of the Story, BEHIND EVERY GREAT MAN are vignettes of the forgotten spouses of the very famous. Remarkable individuals in their own right, they will emerge from the shadows bringing truth to the expression, “behind every great man stands a great woman”

Entries include: (dates indicate when the met their spouse)
Emma Wedgwood Darwin (1808) England
Johanna Bertha Julie Jenny von Westphalen Marx (circa 1819) Germany
Sofia Behrs Tolstoy: (1862) Russia
Ba Kasturba Kapadia Ghandi: (1883) India
Alma Reveille (Alfred) Hitchcock (1921) Britain
Emilie Pelzl Schindler (1928) Sudetland (present day Czechoslovakia)
Sara Northrup Hubbard (1945) The United States
Joy Davidman (C.S. Lewis) (1952) The United States
Adua Veroni Pavarotti (1953) Italy
Ruth Albern Madoff (1954) The United States
Jane Nebel Henson 1954 (The United States)
Anita Kushner (Abbie) Hoffman 1967 (The United States)
Althea Leasure (Larry) Flint (1971) The United States
Alison Stewart Hewson (Bono) (1973) Ireland
Paula Yates Geldoff (1976) Wales
Blythe Newton (Dan) Brown (1991) The United States
Callistra Bisek Gingrich (1993) The United States

Click here to buy BEHIND EVERY GREAT MAN


AND THE REST IS HISTORY: The Famous (and Infamous) First Meetings of the World's Most Passionate Couples
Did my heart love till now?
Forswear it, sight!
For I ne'er saw true beauty till tonight.
-Romeo and Juliet


Antony and Cleopatra, Diego Rivera and Frida Kahlo, Gertrude Stein and Alice B. Toklas, Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall, Joe DiMaggio and Marilyn Monroe, Elvis Presley and Priscilla Beaulieu, John Lennon and Yoko Ono-while we're familiar with all of these people as individuals, we also associate them with the grand, sometimes fiery passion they shared with their partners. And the Rest Is History is an intriguing look at how these iconoclastic lovers first crossed paths, whether it was through fate, setups, or blind luck. From angry sparks flying to love at first sight, the meetings shared in this book give us a look at what makes that one great love.

Click here to buy AND THE REST IS HISTORY


EUREKA! The Surprising Stories Behind the Ideas That Shaped the World
The fascinating inspirations behind common inventions and creations- from Barbie to Sweet and Low to Mt. Rushmore.

The slinky was born aboard a World War II ship.
The Barbie doll was inspired by a German sex toy.
Weight Watchers began with a Jewish housewife in Queens, New York.

Eureka! explores the fascinating stories behind these famous creations and many others-from blue jeans to the Taj Mahal to Mickey Mouse-detailing the relationships between inspirations and their inventors. Readers will delight in the intriguing-and sometimes surprising-origins behind the ideas that have shaped the world.

Click here to SEE Marlene discuss EUREKA! on TV
Click here to buy EUREKA


ONCE AGAIN TO ZELDA: The Stories Behind Literature's Most Intriguing Dedications
A fascinating look at the stories behind the dedications of 50 literary classics.

Mary Shelley dedicated Frankenstein to her father, her greatest champion. Charlotte Brönte dedicated Jane Eyre to William Makepeace Thackeray for his enthusiastic review of the book's first edition. Dostoyevsky dedicated The Brothers Karamazov to his typist-turned-lover Anna Grigoyevna. And, as this collection's title indicates, F. Scott Fitzgerald dedicated his masterpiece The Great Gatsby to his wife Zelda.

Often overlooked, a novel's dedication can say much about an author and his or her relationship to the person for whom the book was consecrated. Once Again to Zelda explores the dedications in fifty iconic books that are an intrinsic part of both literary and pop culture, shedding light on the author's psyche, as well as the social and historic context in which the book was first published.

Click here to buy ONCE AGAIN TO ZELDA